Skip to content

Accounting observations

July 7, 2011

My computer is gone.  I’m not sure for how long, but I have given it up and can only hope for some good news soon.  So that means this has to be a short post since I’m using Amanda’s computer.

Since I had no computer I mainly shadowed the head accountant guy today.  I had spoken with him several times before, but only now did I have the opportunity to sit with him and see step by step the process.  Really it is exactly as you would think and pretty much the same as the US.  You order something and get the receipt, give it to the accounting department who journal it and then cut a check later.  Then at certain periods of time you make all the financial statements…pretty simple.  Some of the formats for the financial statements were a bit different, but on the whole very similar.  I do want to share one very interesting thing with you.

The numbers are grouped differently.  Here is what an Indian number looks like:  54, 23, 19, 444.  This would read fifty four crore, twenty three lakhs, nineteen thousands, four hundred forty four.  Other than that interesting tidbit, I’m not sure what else would interest the non accounting persons.  The exchange rate if you would like to know is about 45 rupees to 1 dollar.

Yesterday I had grilled lamb chops with mashed potatoes and grilled veggies, just like home–I only wish I had some mint jelly!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott Hubbard permalink
    July 8, 2011 9:21 pm

    CJ – Great stuff, your dad mentioned your blog today at Bull Hawgs. Harold finally got the new digs cranked up. Maybe he’ll start serving grilled lamb with mint jelly!

    I loved your accounting observations, I had to share your thoughts with my accounting group at Milliken.

    God’s speed,
    Bart

    • July 9, 2011 2:54 am

      Thank you Mr. Hubbard, I can’t wait to get to Bullhawgs for some ribs or bbq!

  2. July 9, 2011 12:23 am

    I still think you should be an actuary!

    • July 9, 2011 2:53 am

      haha, Smar the only actuary I know left her job to be an accountant in Quito!

Leave a Reply

