Skip to content

Saturday

June 25, 2011

I always knew that I liked having Saturdays off, but I didn’t realize how much I enjoyed them until having to work on Saturdays.  Most of the people in India work on Saturdays, and most work in the 9-6 shift, rather than 8-5, but that’s irrelevant to the topic at hand.  I don’t really understand why or when that trend occurred,  I thought maybe it was because of the time schedule with the United States where India is 9 and a half hours ahead.  That means Americans could have worked on stuff Friday night and sent it to India, and then Indians work on those orders Saturday, but it seems like the newer companies, especially IT companies do have Saturday off.  So my theory may not be complete…

Anyhow, usually on a Friday you have people talking about what they’re going to do for the weekend…well when its one day no one talks about it.  When its one day there isn’t anywhere for you to go or do really.  When its one day, you just want to rest and be with your family.  So because of those reasons, not very many Indians travel, unless it’s to see family or on business.  In addition, Friday night is not a big party night because of work on Saturday, and Saturday is not a big party night because people just want to rest.  That’s not to say there aren’t clubs, bars, etc and that Indians don’t go out, but from what I’ve been able to observe and ask, the people in the bars are the same Mon-Sun, and the party scene is pretty calm.  Now I am relying on my coworkers who are mostly 30 or 40 to give me this information and I am in Mangalore which is much smaller than a Delhi or Mumbai, but still it’s interesting.

I really want two days off for two reasons.  One, with only one day off I am very handicapped in my travel plans, so I’d like two days off so that I could see some more of India.  The second reason is that I’m used to two days off, and so when Wednesday comes around, its depressing that I’m not halfway finished with the week.  It really gives the sense that you are working every day, and when Sunday comes, you really don’t know what to do.  And you don’t get that sense of urgency to finish your work before the weekend, because the weekend is only one day.  Well, no matter about any of that, I’ve still got some work to do!…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. P Jennings permalink
    June 25, 2011 1:30 pm

    Love this one Caleb! Love Terry, Pat, Susan, and Karen

  2. Laura permalink
    June 29, 2011 8:52 pm

    I am with ya on that one! Who would like to work Saturday???

Leave a Reply

