Skip to content

Hospitality in India

June 22, 2011

I don’t know all the rules, or really any of the rules for hospitality in India, but I wanted to share how nice and accommodating all the people in India have been with us.

First of all, I have a neighbor who is studying for a bunch of dental exams.  He usually studies outside and I pass him whenever I get home from work or go out, etc, and he ALWAYS says hey and asks how I’m doing.  In addition, his mom will bring me some kind of food at least twice a week just to try.  Also, when Amanda got sick, they were so helpful about where I could get gatorade/something like it, and that I could use their stove, etc.  They have really been great to us.

Also all the people at work have been great at accepting us into their lunch tables, their office, their space, their cars.  Usually we get a ride from the Vice President, but when he has to be somewhere else, we have had three or four other guys that have been willing to drive us.  When Amanda got sick, we have had advice up the wazoo, but also each person has told us, no matter what the time, to just call if we need anything.  These are people we hardly know, we only know them from work, and yet they are so caring.  I don’t know whether all of India is like that, but I bet so.  Every person I have asked for directions or help has been extremely willing to give it.  SO I hope it continues…

Quick food update:  Two nights ago I had a dish called cashewnut pulao.  It is basically fried rice with a few veggies and cashews.  It is a bit spicy and so comes with yogurt that you are supposed to dribble over the dish.

Last night I had veg crispy, which was a starter.  It was a mix of general Sao’s and sesame sauce that was fried onto grilled onions and other vegetables.  Also I had a mushroom dum biryani.  The biryanis are my favorite dish I think.  It has a little curry gravy that is completely covered in rice and served with yogurt again.  So, even though Amanda is having some trouble eating, I have been lucky not to have any problems with the food and will continue to love it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. P Jennings permalink
    June 22, 2011 2:02 pm

    I loved hearing about the warm Indian hospitality. I hope we come across the same way to foreigners when they visit the U.S. I also looked up the temples you and Amanda visited and they are amazing. The history is really incredible since we don’t have anything near that old here.

  2. Jean Cornwell permalink
    June 23, 2011 12:48 am

    So interesting!! I have read all of your posts, Caleb, and love your insights!! Thank you for sharing all of this with us!
    Jean

  3. Amalia permalink
    June 23, 2011 3:40 pm

    BIen hecho Caleb! que bueno que tu hayas podido cuidar de Amanda mientras estuvo enferma, y que bendición que la gente a tu lado es tan amable y tan abierta en ayudarte con lo que necesites 🙂 De verdad Dios se muestra también a través de las personas :):)

  4. Joe permalink
    June 23, 2011 7:11 pm

    Calebcito a cualquier lugar que vayas siempre serás una bendición, disfruta tu tiempo allá y aprovecha la Gracia que Dios a derramado en ti miss you dude !

  5. Laura permalink
    June 29, 2011 9:03 pm

    Claro… y sigas disfrutando la comida!!

Leave a Reply

