Skip to content

The Mall

June 9, 2011

Well last night I had the opportunity to go the biggest mall in Mangalore.  It was six stories, but one complete story was under construction to become a movie theater.  This is probably where anyone from America would feel most at home.  There are lots of stores ranging from clothes to books to electrical appliances and ipads, and no mall is complete without a food court.  This food court even had a KFC.  The other mall that I went to last Sunday had a Dominos.  I haven’t found a Subway or a Mcdonald’s yet, but I’m sure they’re around here somewhere.  So, if I didn’t like Indian food so much, I could be quite comfortable with some fried chicken or pizza.  I’m not sure if I had mentioned before but there are not that many ethnic restaurants…the restaurants are probably 80% Indian, 10-15%Chinese, Malaysian, Thai, etc, and 5% American.  So-back to the mall.  This is where the younger crowd seems to hang out, especially the more affluent crowd.  I still haven’t see another Westerner, but this would be the most likely place to see one.  I got the chance to have some fresh squeezed sugar cane juice for 15Rs which is about 25cents.  Very cool and refreshing…and no added sugar!  There is also a Baskin Robbins in the mall, but they sell their cream for about twice the price of what the other ice cream places sell, so I had an ice cream  at a different place…my brand loyalty isn’t very strong.  Anyway, I hope to get back there and get some nice shirts and pants which are much less expensive than in the US.  Until then…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. P Jennings permalink
    June 9, 2011 12:03 pm

    The large mall sounds like a fun place to do some shopping. How far is it from where you live? You should look for some silk ties. I think India has beautiful silk fabrics.

    • June 9, 2011 2:55 pm

      It’s probably a 20 minute drive from where I live. There are two malls that are closer to where I live, about a ten minute walk away. There is a pretty good deal of silk produced here, but not as much is sold here. I think it’s like the candles here at Primacy: 80-85% go to the US, 10-15% go to Europe, the marginal stuff left over is what is sold in India.

  2. Laura permalink
    June 10, 2011 3:16 am

    I love it! I’m sure it felt nice to be in something familiar… I’ve heard taxis are cheap there… so maybe you could find your way back there for those nice clothes!

  3. Joe permalink
    June 11, 2011 4:06 am

    que interesante Caleb, disfruta tu tiempo allá!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

