Skip to content

Travel Time

June 1, 2011

So I have moved to Mangalore and am going to be working at Primacy, a subsidiary of the Manipal Group, and a factory that produces candles for the MVP group in Charleston.  It’s about an hour and a half ride from Manipal and I thought I would share a little about driving and roads in India.

First things first–Indians drive on the wrong side of the road, I guess a habit they picked up from the British, and so the driver’s seat is on the right.

All the roads seem to be undergoing construction…by this I mean that on the sides of the road there is always some preparation for expanding the road, trees that look recently cut down, gravel or rocks piled on the sides of the road, a flattened “road” of dirt by the side.  However I have not seen anyone actually doing work expanding the road.

I have seen people repairing potholes or creating a median, that is a pretty common sight.  The condition of the “highways” or main roads is pretty good, but excepting from that you can always find potholes, etc in the other side streets.

I have seen two streetlights…yet that is not a problem, everyone knows what they are doing.

Most of the roads are two-lanes…however the distinction is very blurred…really your lane is as small as your vehicle or as large as it needs to be to pass the vehicle in front of you.  You are really not driving in your lane, you are swerving in and out to pass the mopeds and large trucks, especially gas trucks.  Whenever you are about to pass a vehicle you honk.  Whenever you go around a curve, you honk.  Whenever someone is coming right at you…you just flick your lights.  The last rule of the road–the bus has the right of way.  The bus usually just lays on the horn the whole time they are driving and stays in the middle of the lanes and everyone gets out of the way.  I think I was asleep most of the time for the road trip to Manipal, but I was wide awake for the return, and wished I was asleep

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:07 pm

    LOVE IT!!! and love hearing about your time in India…. so are you gonna take some pictures to put on here! I’m dying to see pictures!!

  2. Amalia permalink
    June 3, 2011 4:52 am

    jajajaja I agree with Laura 🙂 pictures pleaaaaaase!!!!

Leave a Reply

