Skip to content

Time to catchup

May 31, 2011

So it is time for me to catch up with what I’ve eaten and done since I’ve been here.  First the food… I am just an amateur trying to explain this:

Chicken Sheek Kabob burger–minced chicken with onion on a kabob, then they take it off and put it on a sweet bun with some mayo(or something like mayo).  It was delicious.

Chicken Tikka Masala- This is the typical curry chicken dish, in this instance it was a reddish gravy with tomatoes.  This one was spicy!!  I ordered it from a place called Hot ‘n’ Spicy so what do you expect?  I’ve basically found that you order the gravies, like Chicken masala, with either rice or roti (a wheat tortilla).  So I ordered it with jeera rice.  I’ve since found out that jeera rice is just the usual rice (basmati) with cumin.  Anyway it too was delicious.

Paneer Kofta- Another curry dish this time with potatoes, also red but not quite as red as the chicken tikka masala.  Was also pretty spicy.  I ordered this one with Roti and did my best eating with my hands–actually just the right hand.  I’ve learned that only children use two hands, so I quickly rectified my error and finished my delicious meal.

Paneer something Kabab- So I didn’t realize the Paneer is the goat? cheese that they use here.  So when I got the blocks of cheese that were covered with curry/gravy I was very surprised.  It was not bad, but not exactly what I was in the mood for either.

Hazzare Kabab- A chicken kabab with a green curry.  Not as spicy as the other curries.  The chicken was more tender though than that in the Masala.

Chicken Hyderabadi Biryani – I think this was my favorite dish so far.  The hyderabadi part refers to a region in India where I guess the dish is popular.  For me it means green curry.  Biryani means that it was covered with rice.  Then they also served it with an onion, a quarter of a lime, and a plain yogurt dish that you put on the curry to cool it off.  As I said it was delicious.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

